Rainbow of Promise

Rainbow

It was raining this morning when my son and I were out running some errands in the car. As we came into town I noticed a rainbow right in front of me. I hadn’t seen one for a very long time since our area had been experiencing a drought until a few weeks ago. Whenever I see a rainbow it reminds me of all God’s promises to us of his love, protection and salvation. The radio was on and while I was admiring the beautiful colors I heard these words being sung:

Now the question isn’t “will you”
What I want to know is “when”
If it’s one day or a million
I will wait for you ’til then
So I’m holding on to your words
And the promises you’ve made
There is not one you have broken
There’s not one I didn’t take

It’s alright
It’s okay
I won’t worry about tomorrow
For it brings me one more day
Closer than I was to you

Wow! What perfect timing. It was Third Day’s “It’s Alright” playing. It was like my life had a soundtrack playing in the background. What a great way to start the morning remembering that God is there taking care of me and my family.

Sometimes it can feel like your life is going through a drought be it spiritual, financial or in your relationships. God is there through it all, and he has promised to take care of us so many times in the Bible. Philippians 4:19 says, “And my God will meet all your needs according to his riches in glory.” In John chapter 4 beginning with verse 1 Jesus tells us, “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place I am going.” In Romans 8:21 Paul reminds us of God’s loving protection and sovereignty over all with this simple question, “…If God is for us, who can be against us?” To receive the comfort and joy of resting securely in our Lord and Savior we have only to receive him. “…Believe on the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved.” Acts 16:31. (All scripture is from the NIV.)

The drought can seem endless at times. Often it’s when life is at its driest that God sends his quenching rains. If you’re thirsting for answers or help look no further than God’s word. It can be like a rainbow in the midst of a desert.

FOOTNOTE

The first rainbow is recorded in Genesis 9 verses 8-17. It was a symbol of the first recorded covenant God made. God made several covenants throughout the Bible, but all the others were made between only God and the Jewish people. The rainbow covenant in Genesis in the only one of God’s that applies to all people and all living things.

Then God said to Noah and to his sons with him, “Behold, I establish my covenant with you and your offspring after you, 10 and with every living creature that is with you, the birds, the livestock, and every beast of the earth with you, as many as came out of the ark; it is for every beast of the earth. 11 I establish my covenant with you, that never again shall all flesh be cut off by the waters of the flood, and never again shall there be a flood to destroy the earth.” 12 And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant that I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for all future generations: 13 I have set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14 When I bring clouds over the earth and the bow is seen in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant that is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh. And the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh. 16 When the bow is in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.” 17 God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant that I have established between me and all flesh that is on the earth.” (From the ESV Bible at ESV.org)

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

