Is Your Heart as Clean as Your Microwave?

I spent the morning scrubbing down my kitchen in preparation for our Thanksgiving celebration on Thursday. I emptied the refrigerator, wiping it down inside and out. I threw out all the old and expired food to make room for the extra groceries that will soon become over-abundant left overs. I scoured my cook top and wiped down all the other surfaces of my stove. I removed all the baked-on, splattered food inside my microwave. I wiped the dust off the storage containers and small appliances on my counter-top, then moved them and cleaned underneath. In a normal week many of these things might get a quick swipe with the dish rag. Some things, I am sorry to admit, probably haven’t had a proper cleaning since last Thanksgiving.

While I was in my cleaning frenzy, to occupy its self, my mind began to wonder to other things. I began to think how my spiritual life can be like my kitchen. On the surface it may seem to be put together and well maintained. I go to church, I pray, I read the Bible, I teach my son about the Lord. If you ask, I can give the right religious answer. But what things have I ignored or put aside to deal with another day over the past year? What bad attitudes have I acquired that need adjusting? Do I have new bad habits that need breaking? Is there unrepented sin that I should take to the Lord and ask his forgiveness for? Has he been speaking to me about something, but I haven’t been listening?

Thanksgiving is days away now. We will take account of the blessings in our lives this past year and give thanks to God for them. Christmas is just weeks away. We will celebrate with giving the birth of God’s son Jesus and the salvation that was brought to us that night in a stable in Bethlehem. Then a week later we will welcome in a New Year.

While we are celebrating this holiday season, it also seems like a good time to do some inner soul-searching and reflecting. A time to ask God to clean out all the gunk from our lives that’s built up in the hidden corners of our hearts over last year. A time to make things right with Him that we’ve been putting off. A time to ask for new direction and vision for the coming year.

So this year be thankful, give generously with joy, and set aside some time to take a personal inventory and meet with God. My kitchen is clean. I’m going to make sure that my heart is clean also so I can truly enjoy the celebration.

-Let us search out and examine our ways, and turn back to the Lord. Let us lift our hearts and hands to God in heaven. Lamentations 3:40-41

-Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Psalm 139:23-24

-Examine me, O Lord, and prove me, try my mind and my heart. Psalm 26:2

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

