If He’s Washing Dishes He Must Love Me

I know my husband reads this and I’m sure I’ve embarrassed him more than once doing this, but I want to thank him for washing the dishes last night.

Now some of you are thinking, “Big Deal, my husband washes the dishes all the time.” And some others of you are thinking, “So what? He should wash the dishes now and then!” But you don’t know the whole story behind this. Last night was the first time since April of 2000 that my husband washed dishes.

Now before you start to think that he’s one of those guys who sits on the couch all night watching football while I do housework, I want to say that he does help me with everything else. He will help with vacuuming, dusting, cleaning the bathroom, sweeping and mopping the kitchen floor and even the laundry. He’s great at taking care of our son. He does all the yard work outside, and is my resident handy man when things around the house need repaired. He even fixes our vehicles saving us lots of money at the garage. But dishes just aren’t his thing.

That spring many years ago I was working full time and involved in our church Easter play. Every night for two weeks I came home from work, made dinner and asked my husband to wash the dishes while I was at rehearsals. Well, night after night I came home to a sink full of dirty dishes. After a few days I decided it was a matter of principle and I was not going to wash those dishes. They piled up and we started running out of things to cook in and eat with. Finally I got very angry at him, and after a big argument he started washing the dishes. He was in the kitchen for hours and made very little progress. Eventually I couldn’t stand watching the painfully slow process any longer, and I sent him away and finished the dishes.

I never asked my husband to wash dishes again after that. We’d only been married about 2 years at the time and I still had a lot to learn about married life. I have since learned to pick my battles. I realized that if he really hated doing the dishes that much, I should just bite the bullet and do it. I wasn’t worth the argument.

Well for about five days now I’ve been battling a terrible cold. I’ve been absolutely miserable. As you can imagine undone house work along with dishes was piling up by yesterday afternoon. With out my even asking my husband went into the kitchen and starting cleaning the sink full of dirty pots, pans and tableware. I couldn’t believe it. Knowing how much he dislikes this chore I know he did it just because he loves me.

So that’s why I am so grateful to him for doing the dishes.

Thanks and I Love you!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “If He’s Washing Dishes He Must Love Me”

  1. realworldmartha Says:

    Did you ever read the book by Kevin Lehman “Sex begins in the Kitchen” ? It goes right along with this.
    Debbie

  2. ladonnamobile Says:

    Beautiful sentiments! You are a good woman with a good man!

Leave a Reply

