Holiday Hoopla

Martha from Real World Martha tagged me for the Holiday Hoopla, so I’ll give it a try…
1. List 12 random things about yourself that have to do with Christmas.
2. Please refer to it as a ‘hoopla’ and not the dreaded ‘m’-word.
3. You have to specifically tag people when you’re done. None of this “if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged” stuff is allowed…then nobody ends up actually doing it. The number of people who you tag is really up to you — but the more, the merrier to get this ‘hoopla’ circulating through the blogosphere.
4. Please try and do it as quickly as possible. The Christmas season will be over before we know it.

As a child…

1. I am an only child and we didn’t live close to relatives so it was usually just my Mom, Dad and me on Christmas day.

2. When I was 6 or 7 one Christmas my parents bought me the complete set of Little House on the Prairie books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I got a chair, snuck into their closet and found them in a box on the top shelf around Thanksgiving, but they caught me peeking. I got in a lot of trouble.

3. Every Christmas I dreamed of getting a puppy. I never got one.

4. I remember making sugar cookies with my mom for Christmas and she always made that Chex Mix. That was back when they didn’t sell it pre-made in the store.

5. I remember watching the Charlie Brown Christmas Special and Rudolph. I watched Rudolph with my son this year. It had been a long time since I’d seen it. It’s kind of weird. That big scary abominable snowman and everything.

As a Teen:

6. We moved from Indiana to Ohio and were closer to my Mom’s family. We would spend Christmas Eve at my Grandma’s house with all my aunts, uncles and cousins. There were 25 or 30 people there usually.

7.  I just wanted clothes from the mall or money and gift cards to buy clothes at the mall.

8. I spent most of Christmas break sleeping in until 10 or 11 a.m.

As an “adult”:

9. Christmas is so much more fun now since my son was born. It’s neat to see it all through his eyes.

10. The presents are so much less important, and time with family and celebrating the birth of Christ is so much more meaningful.

11. I love going with my husband and son every year to the tree farm to cut down our tree. We never had a real tree growing up. I insist on it now.

12. My favorite Christmas movie is A Christmas Story. I just love how it’s told from the perspective of a kid. Also it takes place in Cleveland where I was born.

Thanks to Martha for passing “Hoopla” on to me. Please  A Cup of Joy, Ever After My Way and Ladonna Mobile, would you honor us with your own random Christmas Memories?

I hope many new wonderful memories were created for you this year!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Holiday Hoopla”

  1. acupofjoy Says:

    I did it! Come to my blog to read about my Holiday Hoopla! 🙂

  2. karenfriends Says:

    I was browsing and found your site. I love it!!! Karenfriends

Leave a Reply

