Waiting out 2007

2007 ended on a high note for our family after several months of uncertainty.

The first three quarters of the year were difficult financially. A sluggish economy and rising costs made it difficult for the family business that my husband was self-employed with full time to make much of a profit.

We sensed it was time for change and had been thinking about it for over three years, but weren’t sure what our next move should be. We considered many possibilities. My husband thought about completing his college degree to help him get a new job, but the funds weren’t available to pay for classes. We even toyed with moving to another state with a better economic outlook, but there was still the problem of finding work there. Without what seemed like any real direction from the Lord, we just waited.

The business seemed to take a particularly bad hit in late summer. Needing a more secure paycheck my husband applied for a job at a local factory. He got the job and I was thankful just for that, especially the health insurance that came with it. But after just three months he got promoted to the office. It was a higher paying salaried job that came with even more affordable health coverage. I was overjoyed. Then his employer offered to pay for for him take college classes to study electrical engineering. I couldn’t believe it! In such a short time we went from having no idea what to do, to having a very clear path laid out for us. I am so thankful to God for providing this for our family.

I am sure that if you asked my husband 10 years ago where he’d be today, studying to be an electrical engineer would not have even crossed his mind. It certainly wouldn’t have been my first guess. God often has different plans for us than we have for ourselves. When we seek and open up to his leading we can find ourselves on paths we’d never imagine. Sometimes it can be a long time between asking God and receiving his  answer, and those times can be tough. Why he chooses to wait isn’t always clear, but there are usually lessons learned and the result of a deepening of your relationship with him. I certainly learned to trust God no matter what, learned he does keep his promises and learned to be patient and content with the situation I am given.

When I am in those long, dark hours of waiting my mind always turns to this verse, “Wait for the Lord; Be Strong; Let your heat take courage; yes, wait for the Lord. (Psalm 27:14) Many times it was only the courage that came from knowing God was watching over us and that he had a plan for us that got me through. “For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

For a time it seems like the waiting is over. I am sure there will be more difficult times to come. I am sure there will be more waiting for other answers in the future. Right now I am resting in those ” green pastures” by “still waters ” promised to us in Psalms 23.

Thank you Lord for your blessings in 2007. Continue to lead and direct my family in 2008.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

