What’s for Dinner: No More Onion Crying Jags

01/13/08

whatsfordinnersmall.gif

BBQ Beef Short-ribs

Baked Potatoes

Corn

This was an experimental meal. I never made beef short ribs before. Usually we cook racks of pork ribs on the grill. I used a recipe I found online at recipesecrets.net.

BBQ Beef Short Ribs

4 lb. beef short ribs
1 large onion, coarsely chopped
1/4 cup flour
1 cup BBQ sauce of your choice
1/4 cup honey
1 Tbsp. yellow mustard

Place short ribs in crock pot, top with onions. Mix remaining ingredients, pour over ingredients in crock pot. Cover with lid.

Cook on Low for 6-8 hours or on High 3-4 hours. Remove ribs form crock pot, cover to keep warm.

Skim excess fat from sauce, return ribs to sauce. Stir gently until coated well.

I used Jack Daniel’s Honey Smokehouse BBQ sauce. The ribs were tender and the sauce was good. I don’t like the short ribs, however, because it seemed like they had more fat than meat on them.

While I was doing the prep I tried a couple kitchen tricks I’d learned about recently.

Chop an Onion with out the Tears

The first tip I tried was a way to avoid tearing up when chopping onions. I learned this information from TV Chef Giada De Lourentiis on the Today Show last week. She said to quickly chop the ends off an onion then immediately place it under cold running water to finish peeling. The water washes off the sulfur which causes eyes to water. It worked. No tears. I think I’m overly sensitive to onions, because just slicing for a few seconds makes my eyes to well up so much I can’t see, and am in danger of cutting off my finger. So I was surprised when it worked.

Measuring Sticky Stuff

I forget where I heard this useful bit of information. When measuring sticky liquids like corn syrup, or the honey that is in this recipe, spray your measuring cup with non-stick cooking spray. It helps what ever you’re measuring not cling to the cup. This worked to. The honey slide right out when I poured it, leaving little in the cup.

Check back Tomorrow to see What’s for Dinner.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

