10 Pounds in 5 Weeks

I went to the OBGYN Friday for an annual check up, and talked to him about how we want to start trying for another baby soon. (Grandparents, don’t get too excited.) He told me that everything was fine, but that I should really consider loosing 10 pounds first. The last 10 pounds I never lost after my son was born.

I was dieting and exercising already, and actually during the previous year lost the first 10 pounds of left over baby weight. I wasn’t exactly skinny before I got pregnant, and I do worry that I’ll just keep gaining weight with each baby (not that I plan on having that many more) and never loose it. Honestly, I’m more concerned about my health (there is some history of heart disease in my family) than my physical appearance. While it’s nice to be thin and be able to wear anything, I’m pretty O.K. with my body image. I certainly don’t ever want to be one those girls whose so skinny you can see their backbone through their clothes.

So why am I telling you all of this? Well, I don’t want to wait another year to start trying to get pregnant. I’m no spring chicken anymore after all, and don’t want to waste precious time on the biological clock. The doctor and everyone thing I read tells me I can safely loose 2 pounds a week. If I try really hard, I can reach my goal of 10 pounds in 5 weeks. I’m hoping by writing all this on my blog, I’ll feel accountable to everyone who reads this and stick with the program.

I’ve been exercising about 25 minutes, five days a week. I’m going to up that to 50 minutes five days a week, and 25 minutes on Saturday and Sunday. My eating habits are what I really need to change. I’m going to try and cut out snacking between meals, eat smaller portions and cook lighter, healthier dinners. All this good Mid-western comfort food that my family likes goes right to the hips.

You’re encouragement, prayers and advice would all be welcomed. Have any diet, exercize tips or healthy recipe ideas? Leave a comment and share them.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “10 Pounds in 5 Weeks”

  1. acupofjoy Says:

    I’m happy to cheer you on! I’ve been trying to lose a few pounds myself and also get into a daily exercise routine…not easy. I have found some good resources online, though. I’m keeping myself accountable, too, by blogging about it. Have a look here for some ideas and encouragement: http://acupofjoy.wordpress.com/fitfull-joy/

    Lately, I’ve missed about 3 days this week due to how I’ve been feeling. I really need to get back on track. It does help knowing others are reading and watching.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. womantowomancbe Says:

    Good for you on starting this! I will give you some encouragement to lose weight before getting pregnant–although I started both my pregnancies at the same weight (borderline obese, according to my BMI), I gained 10 pounds more w/my 2nd baby than w/my first, and my pregnancy aches and pains towards the end were a lot worse w/my 2nd and they started earlier. I couldn’t get good sleep, couldn’t find a comfortable sleeping position, sore back during the day–the whole nine yards. Also, I’ve had a much harder time losing the weight from my 2nd preg–in fact, I’ve pretty much “settled” at 15-20 pounds over my pre-preg weight. But I’ve set a goal to lose 50 pounds in 50 weeks, and have started a blog to help me do that. Same as with you–hoping that knowing that other people will be reading it will keep me honest. So far, it’s worked great–I’ve lost 3 pounds this week (counting calories and working out more), and I’m energized to lose more. I’ll be watching you, and you can watch me at chubbybuddies.wordpress.com. 🙂

    Kathy

Leave a Reply

