Ironing, what a Chore

Ughh! Of all the household chores I have to do, I hate ironing the most. I was spoiled for many years, because my husband was self-employed and didn’t need a freshly ironed shirt to wear every morning. Now he has a new job that he wears a dress shirt and dress pants to everyday. That means hangers full of wrinkled clothes waiting to be pressed when the laundry is done each week. It takes an iron will to force myself to keep up with all the pressing.

I had to come up with a way to motivate myself. So I wait for my son’s nap time, then I bring the ironing board out to the living room and watch shows that I Tivo’d that week. I save my favorite shows just for ironing. It passes the time, and gives me something to look forward to when I have pressing waiting to be done.  

What’s your least favorite chore to do around the house? What do you do to get through it or make it more enjoyable?

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Ironing, what a Chore”

  1. acupofjoy Says:

    Upbeat, happy music makes any chore for me more enjoyable. Currently, my least favorite chore is scrubbing the shower! We have an enclosed shower with glass doors. One word: Soap Scum. One more word: Mold. Yuck!!! The mold I attack right away with a highly concentrated bleach spray. The soap scum I loathe…it builds up and up until you can’t see out of the glass doors anymore and then I finally get it done. To my delight, this is one chore my husband offers to do for me quite readily. I never say no when he offers. I haven’t come up with a motivator for fighting soap scum. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

