What’s for Dinner: Papaya Chicken

01/21/08

whatsfordinnersmall.gifWell tonight was my first attempt at making a lighter, healthier dinner. I found several new recipes to try. The first, Papaya Chicken. I love chicken and I love papaya. It sounded good– in theory.


Papaya Chicken Recipe

4 chicken breast halves, skinned
2 tbsp Dijon mustard
2 papayas
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup orange juice
1/2 tsp salt

Peel and remove seeds of papayas; reserve 1 tsp of the papaya seeds. Slice one papaya lengthwise in 1/2-inch slices; reserve. Chop remaining papaya and place in blender, add orange juice, mustard and reserved papaya seeds. Blend until seeds are finely chopped, about 1 minute.

Place nonstick frypan on medium high temperature and spray with vegetable cooking spray. Add chicken and cook, turning, about 10 minutes or until brown. Pour lemon juice over chicken and sprinkle with salt. Spoon blended papaya over chicken, reduce heat to low, cover and cook about 25 minutes, turning and spooning with sauce after 15 minutes.

Add reserved papaya slices and cook 5 minutes more, covered. Turn off heat and let sit 5 minutes.

I found this recipe here http://www.free-gourmet-recipes.com/lacichick23.shtml .

First I had to figure out how to peel a papaya. Easy, actually. I used a veggie peeler. It worked great. It was easy to prepare this entree and not that labor intensive. The dish smelled great, then when was it was almost done cooking I tasted the sauce. It was so sour. Way too much lemon juice. So probably undoing all the healthy attributes, I added four tablespoons of brown sugar. Much better. However, I think it still had too much lemon juice in it. The lemon overpowered the papaya, which was the flavor I like and wanted to taste. It wasn’t horrible. We ate it, but it wasn’t the great meal I imagined it to be. Oh, well. One good thing, it was easy to resist a second helping.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “What’s for Dinner: Papaya Chicken”

  1. crockpot lady Says:

    That sounds delicious! I haven’t bought papaya. I think that would be a fun ingredient to work with.
    -steph

  2. bluemoon Says:

    What a sweet give a way! yummmi chocolate! Thanks for entering me. 🙂 Happy day. bluemoonbynite@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

