What’s for Dinner: Southern Porkchops

01/23/08

whatsfordinnersmall.gif

This recipe was labeled as light. I wasn’t aware that pork chops were low-cal. Maybe it depends on the cut, or maybe you’re only supposed to eat three bits. (I definitely had more than three bits.) I was skeptical of this being diet food, but it sounded good, so I made it anyway.

Southern Pork Chop Recipe

Prep: 5 min, Cook: 10 min.
4 pork rib chops
1 clove garlic, cut in half
1 Tbs. paprika
1 tsp. seasoned salt
1 tsp. sage, crumbled
1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp. pepper

Prepare grill or broiler. Rub both sides of pork chops with garlic. Combine next 5 ingredients in a bowl. Press seasoning mixture into pork chops with hands to adhere. Grill pork chops 7-8 minutes per side or until cooked throughout.

I found this recipe here http://www.mealsforyou.com/cgi-bin/recipe?id.5050 .

This was good and really easy to make. Very fast as well. It is a little hot and spicy. If you prefer bland food, it’s not for you. I cooked them on a cast iron grill on the stove top. I think they’d be really good on the Bar-B-Q. If I’d had some smoked paprika I would have used that to add a smokey flavor. (It’s on my grocery list.) The only difficulty I had was getting the spice rub evenly spread on the chops. I had one or two bits that had too much spice on them.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

