Wednesdays for Wives: Living at the Feet of Jesus or Slaving in the Kitchen?

wednesdaysfinal.jpgThere are many examples of Godly women in Bible who’s stories provide practical application to our lives today. Over the next few weeks I’m going to highlight several of them.

This week we’re going to take a look at two woman who, as far as the Bible tell us, were not married, but who’s actions and character we can learn from, Mary and her sister Martha who are mentioned in Luke Chapter 10 Verses 38-42.

“As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!” “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

What completely different reactions these two women had to Jesus. Martha, who’s home it was, is busy preparing the meal for Jesus and the other guests. She was probably in and out of the kitchen, cooking and setting up the area where they would eat.

Meanwhile, her sister Mary chose to spend time listening to Jesus. In fact verse 39 says she, “sat at the Lord’s feet.” I can almost read Martha’s thoughts. “I can’t believe this lazy sister of mine, sitting around on the floor enjoying a good story while I’m here by myself slaving away. She always was good for nothing.” Thinking a reprimand from Jesus would be just the thing to get Mary in gear, she complains to Jesus saying in verse 40, “Tell her to help me!” Imagine the whiny tone of her voice, the indignant expression on her face. See how she stomps her foot to put the exclamation mark on point.

The tables get turned on Martha, and Jesus reprimands her saying in verse 42, “Mary has chosen what is better.” Martha must have been red-faced after that, admonished by Lord in her own home in front of all those guests. I can see her slinking back to the kitchen, head bowed in humbleness.

What Jesus pointed out is that Mary had her priorities straight. She chose Jesus over all the other distractions of the moment. Poor Martha couldn’t see the value of Jesus in her home, because she was too focused on the demands of the world.

Now, I can see this from both women’s point-of-view. Mary was in the presence of Jesus. Who wouldn’t stop and hang on every word? Imagine if a you were invited to the home of friend who also had a celebrity on the guest list. Now, certainly Oprah is of no comparison to Jesus, but if she were at a party I was invited to, I’m sure I’d ignore everyone and everything else to talk with her. That, and I’d be hoping she had a new car waiting for me out in the drive-way.

On the other-hand there’s Martha who’s entertaining Jesus and several other guests in her home. I am one of those people who spends the hours before guests arrive frantically cleaning and cooking. Everything must be perfect. Sometimes when they finally arrive I’m so exhausted I’d rather sleep than entertain them. If Oprah showed up at my home, I’d be running around tucking away the scattered toys and trying to find something in the kitchen on Bob Greens’ Best Life Diet list of approved foods to feed her. I’d probably be in such a panic I wouldn’t enjoy her visit.

In verse 41 after Jesus says, “Mary has chosen what is better,” he adds, “and it will not be taken away from her.” We can obtain all the things the world places value on, wealth, fame, knowledge, but they can be taken away, squandered and lost. As the old saying goes, “You can’t take it with you.” Jesus is the only thing you can take into eternity with you. Accepting Jesus Christ as our savior and putting him first in out life will ensure that eternity is spent with him and his Father in heaven. “For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” Philippians Chapter 1 Verse 21. 

How then can being a Mary, rather than a Martha, help you in your marriage? Put God first, even in your marriage. When you do this, everything else falls into place. Life has many distractions that can eat away a marriage. We argue about trivial things, we spend energy worrying, our time is taken up by outside demands, we harbor resentment rather than forgiveness. If we seek to do God’s will he focuses our affections, the use of our time, our interests and our priorities. Plsam Chapter 37 Verse 4 says, “Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” That isn’t saying he will give you everything you want. It means that he will make you desires for your life the same things he desires for your life. Letting him align our desires with his allows him to work in us, so that our marriage can reflect the example of the church as the bride of Christ given in Ephesians chapter 5.  

Consider these questions today.

  • Am I a Mary?
  • Do I live as if I’m at the feet of Jesus?
  • Do I put Jesus first, living my life according to his teachings and commands?
  • Do I make time to pray and read God’s word?
  • Do I put God’s will above my own and others?
  • Or am I a Martha?
  • Am I always trying to keep up with the demands the world places one me?
  • Do the goals I strive for come from some place other than God’s will for me?
  • Does a busy life prevent me from taking time with the Lord?

Ask God to arrange the priorities in your life so that he is first above all else.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Wednesdays for Wives: Living at the Feet of Jesus or Slaving in the Kitchen?”

  1. chefchrisb Says:

    That looks very yummy!! I will definatly have to try it out.

Leave a Reply

