What’s for Dinner: Chicken Cesar Pitas

02/01/08

whatsfordinnersmall.gif

I wanted to make some kind of light and healthy chicken sandwich. I’ve had a few different versions of Chicken Cesars at restaurants and delis and loved them, so I decided to try and make my own.

I started out with a recipe for Cesar dressing from my Fanny Farmer cook book. I chose it because it didn’t call for raw eggs like a lot of others that I found. I added a few more ingredients to ratchet up the flavor.

Chicken Cesar Pita Recipe

 1/2 Cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

2 Cloves of Garlic

1/4 Cup Grated Parmesan Cheese

1 tbs of sugar

1 tsp to 1 tbs of Lemon Juice (to taste)

Salt and Pepper to taste

4 deli slices of Honey Smoked Ham or 6 strips of cooked Bacon

4 to 6 Chicken Breasts cooked and cubed

5 to 10 leaves of Iceberg Lettuce chopped or shredded

Pita Pockets or Large Tortillas

Blend garlic cloves and EVOO in a blender or food processor until well combined. Add the Parmesan cheese and sugar and continue blending. Add the lemon juice to taste. (I almost forgot the lemon juice. The tartness of the lemon really made a difference in the flavor.) I also added a few dashes of salt and pepper to taste to the dressing. After blending in the lemon juice, salt and pepper, pour dressing into a medium size mixing bowl. Stir in the ham, chicken and lettuce. (I used deli sliced ham because it was low in fat, but I think bacon might taste even better. ) Stuff pita pockets with mixture or roll-up in tortilla shells. I added tomatoes to my sandwich. You could also add some sweet onions.

This makes enough to stuff about 10 pita pockets. The EVOO in the dressing is a good way to incorporate some healthy oil into your diet. The Parmesan cheese and deli ham are low in fat. I used whole wheat pitas to get some whole grains on the menu. My husband who won’t go with me to Panera Bread, because he doesn’t like these kinds of sandwiches, ate two, so I think it was a success.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “What’s for Dinner: Chicken Cesar Pitas”

  1. timethief Says:

    No data is lost when changing from theme to theme. However, when you switch the new theme will present the default widget display. That means all you have to do is go to -> Presentation -> Widgets and place the widgets that you want in the sidebar so they over ride the default display widgets.
    Hope this helps 🙂

  2. Amelia Says:

    I love the chicken cesar pitas. It is now one of the meals I make on a regular basis like once a month. My husband loves them too

Leave a Reply

