Cookie of the Week: Valentine Sugar Cookies

cookie.jpgWell this week I was delayed by my son being ill. Then just as I was finally ready to write this post last night, he spilled water on my laptop. It’s still not working properly. So I’m back at the desktop in the basement.

The chocolate-covered, heart-shaped, pink filled Whoopie Pies didn’t completely satisfy my hankering for Valentine’s Day goodies. So I made sugar cookies, cut out hearts and, of course, frosted them pink.

I used Martha Stewart’s sugar cookie recipe. For rolled and cut cookies I prefer it. The raw dough isn’t as sticky as other sugar cookie recipes I’ve used, and holds up well to all the handling. It’s maybe not as sweet as others, but once you get all that frosting on, and I used a lot as you can see, it doesn’t matter.

heartcookie.jpgNow, I guess sugar cookies are supposed to be frosted with royal icing. And I did try. But the royal icing I made turned out to be way too thin, and just ran right off the cookies. I don’t think it was the fault of Martha’s recipe, I just didn’t know what I was doing. So I turned to my favorite type of frosting, buttercream. To my dismay, I’d used up almost all of the powdered sugar, and didn’t have enough left for another batch of frosting. I went in search of a buttercream frosting recipe that didn’t call for powdered sugar.

I did find a buttercream recipe with out powdered sugar. It doesn’t taste anything like buttercream, but it’s still good. It came out sweet and light with the flavor of homemade whipped cream, only thicker. It actually worked well with the sugar cookies because it wasn’t overly sweet. And since it was so thick, it gave me an excuse to play with my cake decorating tools. Tools that I have no skills to go with. It may look like my son did the decorating, but that’s all me!

Martha Stewart’s Sugar Cookie Recipe

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
1 large egg, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons milk
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Butter Cream Frosting Recipe

1 Cup Butter

1 Cup Sugar

1 Cup Milk

6 tbs Flour

1 tsp vanilla

In a sauce pan stir together flour and milk. Cook until very thick. So thick you can’t stir it anymore.

Cream together butter and sugar. Add vanilla. Beat in milk and flour mixture until smooth and fluffy.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Cookie of the Week: Valentine Sugar Cookies”

  1. sara Says:

    wow, the frosting thing didnt really work out, i was left with this gunk, and after i added food coloring, it was blue gunk

Leave a Reply

