Why 3 year-olds, Water and Electronics Don’t Mix

Whoo-hoo! My laptop’s working again. Tuesday night my son accidentally spilled water on the keyboard. After counting to 10 a few times, taking several deep breathes and telling myself repeatedly that it was just an accident and not deserving of a very, very long time out, I tried to rescue the computer. I shut it down, dried it off and let it sit for a few hours. I wasn’t that much water really, and when I turned it back on and it seemed to be O.K. Then the next morning I tried to type an email and my email looked like this,

“Hi! Hw ae Yu? I just wated to emind yu aout the meetig tomoow.”

Needless to say that was a bit of a problem. An Internet search on the desktop downstairs informed me that I could replace the keyboard or possibly just have certain circuits replaced, either of which would cost more than my five year old Dell Inspiron is worth. So I decided to just get a keyboard to hook up to the laptop and start saving my pennies to buy a new computer eventually.

Well, I tested the keys one last time after arriving home from the store with my new keyboard, and suddenly they were working again. Isn’t that the way it always goes? I’m just glad everything is in working order again, with the exception of an occasional glitch with the shift key. I’ll keep the keyboard around for the next incident, but I think I’ll start the new laptop fund anyway. Next time it may be the motherboard. That would deserve a time out wouldn’t it?

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Why 3 year-olds, Water and Electronics Don’t Mix”

  1. Twisted Cinderella Says:

    Oh dear! I am glad that you have it working now though!

Leave a Reply

