What’s for Dinner: Beef and Mango Wraps

2/27

whatsfordinnersmall.gif

This is another recipe from Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food magazine. It’s made with the meat left over from the Roast Beef with Peppers, Onions and Potatoes.

Beef and Mango Wraps Recipe

1 tbs Dijon mustard

3 tbs fresh lime juice

1 tbs olive oil

coarse salt and pepper

1/2 medium onion thinly sliced

1 red bell pepper cut into thin strips

1 mango peeled and cut into 1/2 inch wedges

4 whole wheat tortillas

4 cups loose spinach

1 pound cooked roast beef, sliced thin, room temp.

In a large bowl, whisk together mustard, lime juice, and oil. Season with salt and pepper. Add onion, bell pepper and mango, toss to combine. Lay tortillas on a work surface. Line each with spinach leaving a 1-inch boarder around the edge. Arrange beef down the center of each wrap. Top beef with mango mixture. Fold in two opposite side and roll up. Slice in half.

Well, I’ve learned my lesson about recipes with sour citrus juice. I don’t like the bitter taste. So I ended up adding a couple tablespoons of brown sugar to cut the lime juice. Beef and mango was certainly a new combination for me. I liked the sweet and sour paired with the meat, but it’s not a new favorite. My husband did not care for it at all. My son liked the mango and the tortilla shell. I don’t think I’ll make this again.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

