Cookie of the Week: Chocolate Crackles

cookie.jpgI was looking for a new twist on Rice Krispies treats when I came across this recipe. I’d never heard of Chocolate Crackles before. It was a really simple no-bake cookie recipe with only a few ingredients that included one of my favorite combinations, chocolate and coconut, so I gave them a try.

crakle.jpgThe flavor and texture reminded me of the Little Debbie Star Crunch Cookies, but I thought the texture was a little greasy. So, I did some more on-line research about the recipe, and discovered that this is actually an Australian confection. The Internet says it is a popular homemade treat there. My husband’s sister Deborah is married to an Australian and living in Brisbane. Aaron, did you grow up eating these?

Well, my further research reveled that the real Australian version is made with a product called Copha rather than Crisco. Copha is a solid shortening made from Coconut Oil. I couldn’t find it in any West Michigan store where I live. If I used Copha to make the Crackles I think the flavor and the texture would be much better. I did find an on-line store based in the state of Washington that sells Copha to U.S. customers. Maybe I’ll order some and give the recipe another try.

Here’s the American version I made that I found on Cooks.com.

American Chocolate Crackles Recipe

4 c. Rice Krispies
3 tbsp. cocoa powder
1 1/2 c. shortening
2 c. powdered sugar
1 c. coconut

To Rice Krispies add melted shortening, cocoa powder, powdered sugar and coconut. Mix thoroughly. Spoon into small cupcake papers and let set in refrigerator.

Here’s the Australian version I found at Kellogg’s Australia.

Authentic Australian Chocolate Crackles Recipe

4 cups Kellogg’s® Rice Bubbles® (Rice Krispies)
1 1/2 cups icing sugar (powdered sugar)
1 cup desiccated coconut
250g copha®, chopped
3 tbsp cocoa

In a large bowl, mix the Kellogg’s® Rice Bubbles®, icing sugar, cocoa & coconut.
Slowly melt the copha® in a saucepan over a low heat.
Allow to cool slightly.
Add to Rice Bubbles mixture, stirring until well combined.
Spoon mixture into paper patty cases (cup cake papers) and refrigerate until firm.

Makes 24 (approximately)

I want you to join me in Cookie of the Week. Bake your own homemade cookies, any recipe you want. Sign the Mr. Linky below and blog about it. Link back to this post. You can grab the Cookie of the Week button too.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Cookie of the Week: Chocolate Crackles”

  1. acupofjoy Says:

    You better believe I grew up eating these…they were great. I remember they were made with Rice Bubbles [not Rice Krispies!] and flavoured with some chocolatey stuff. Awesome snack. I bet little David loves them..

  2. Ben Says:

    *drooools* omggg i havent made these in ages!! i know what im doin this weekend 🙂

    cool site keep the recipes comming! if u got spare time check out my cookie recipes

    ben

Leave a Reply

