What’s for Dinner: Corned Beef

whatsfordinnersmall.gif

We had our St. Patrick’s Day meal last night, a few days late, but it was the first night we were all home for dinner together this week. I made corned beef, something I hadn’t eaten since I was a kid. My mother often made this traditional Irish-American meat, and I remember that I hated it.

My mom made corned beef with cabbage. I thought maybe it was the cabbage I didn’t like, so I decided to try making my own, sans cabbage. I got this CrockPot Corned Beef and Vegetables recipe from Stephanie over at A Year of CrockPotting. (Do check our her blog. The recipes are great and she’s so funny.) The recipe worked wonderfully. The meat was tender, the veggies were well cooked, the house smelled wonderful. Just one problem, it wasn’t the cabbage I didn’t like. I don’t like corned beef. My husband didn’t like it either. My son wouldn’t even try it. It is the saltiest piece of meat I’ve ever eaten. I think next year we’ll try a nice Irish Stew for St. Paddy’s Day.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “What’s for Dinner: Corned Beef”

  1. infinitygoods Says:

    I’ll venture you didn’t rinse your corned beef. Most recipes don’t bother to tell you to rinse it, but if you don’t, it is just horribly too salty. Do give it another try. If it’s prepared properly, it is simply fantastic. The cabbage is very important. Don’t leave it out of the recipe, but just don’t eat it if you don’t like it. 😉

  2. crockpot lady Says:

    oh no! lol.
    I don’t like corned beef either. I make it for the rest of the family.

Leave a Reply

