Cookie of the Week: Chocolate Florentines

cookie.jpg

Well, I made these because they just looked and sounded really good to me. Usually I make cookies for my son, but these were for me. They reminded me of those fancy Pepperidge Farm cookies that I never buy because one, I think they cost too much, and two, I’d eat the whole bag in one night.

florentine.jpg

Milk Chocolate Florentine Cookie Recipe

2/3 cup of Butter

2 cups quick oats

1 cup granulated sugar

2/3 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup corn syrup

1/4 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

1 3/4 cups milk chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375. Line baking sheets with foil.

Melt butter in medium sauce pan. Remove from heat. Mix in everything, but the chocolate chips. Drop by level teaspoons on to lined baking sheets. Spread thinly with a rubber spatula.

Bake for 6 to 8 minutes. Cool completely on baking sheets on wire racks. Peel from foil.

Melt chocolate chips in microwave 1 minutes. Stir. If not completely melted microwave in 15 second intervals until. Stir between each time. Spread melted chocolate on half flat side of half the cookies. Top with remaining cookies.

First I love this recipe because there’s little mess to clean up. No mixer required, and just the one pot and a microwave safe dish. If you’re careful your baking sheets even stay clean since they’re lined with foil. And yes, the foil is necessary. Without, you will never get these sticky cookies off the sheet.

I discovered you have to be very careful with the baking time. Too long and the edges burn. Too short and the cookies come out gooey and sticky. Just as the edges start to brown ever so slightly take them out of the oven. The one saving grace is that because these cookies are so crisp, if you do burn the edges, you can crumble most of the burned part off with you fingers and salvage the cookie. Also they must be totally cool or they will not peel off the foil. You’ll end up scraping little torn pieces of foil off the backs of the cookies.

 It only took about a minute and 15 seconds to melt the chocolate chips. I’m not sure I had quite 1 3/4 cups, because I’d even a few small handfuls out of the bag one day when I had a chocolate attack and couldn’t find any other in the house. But, even with the missing chips, I had plenty to fill the cookies.

These are good. There’s just something about chocolate and oatmeal together. The only thing that goes better with chocolate is peanut butter. (Combine all three and you’re in heaven.) Anyway these are yummy and pretty fancy. They’ll impress your friends, because they look like they took a lot of time to make.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

