Safe in the Midst of the Storm

We arrived home at a quarter to midnight Tuesday after a short vacation. Tired, we all went right to bed and were asleep before our heads hit the pillows. We hadn’t heard any local news or weather reports for days. We knew rain was predicted, but that was all. Around 1:30 in the morning we were jolted out of our sound sleep when an alarm went off. I fumbled around in the dark for a few seconds trying to turn off the alarm clock, wondering how it got set to go off in the middle of the night. Then my husband realized it wasn’t the clock, it was our NOAA weather alert radio. We turned off the alarm and the message on the radio’s LCD screen said there was a severe thunderstorm warning for our area. Howling winds, heavy rain, bright flashes and loud booms confirmed that fact. But looking out the window it just seemed like a typical spring thunderstorm. We went right back to sleep.

Wednesday we learned it was much more than just a thunderstorm. An F1 tornado with winds around 100 miles an hour touched down less than five miles from our house that night, though no tornado warning was issued which would have set the alarm off again on our radio. Instead of going back to bed, we should have been taking cover in the basement.

We were far enough away from the path of the tornado that there was no damage at our our house and the power didn’t even go out. But tornadoes can change direction in an instant and travel long distances. If I’d known what was happening just down the road from us, I would have been terrified and herded my family and all the pets downstairs immediately. A few people did have damage on their property, but thankfully no one was injured.

I thank God for protecting us in the midst of the storm while we were snug in our beds thinking all was safe. Sometimes he keeps us from being batttered by life’s figurative storms of pain and strife. Sometimes he shelters us from a litteral storm. What a comfort knowing he’s there with us through it all.

If you make the Most High your dwelling- even the Lord, who is my refuge- then no harm will befall you, no disaster will come near your tent. For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways; they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone. You will tread upon the lion and the cobra; you will trample the great lion and the serpent. “Because he loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. With long life will I satisfy him and show him my salvation.”

 Psalm 91:9-16

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

