Cookie of the Week: Chocolate Brownies

The Cookie of the Week is actually Brownies today. My husband’s birthday is tomorrow, and he doesn’t like cake. Strange, but true. So I always make him brownies, which he loves. I’ve posted this recipe before, but not under Cookie of the Week. It’s a recipe from my mom.

Brownie Recipe

1 1/4 Cup margarine

2 Cups sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla

4 eggs

1 cup flour

3/4 cup cocoa powder

In a small sauce pan over low heat melt together margarine and cocoa powder. In a separate bowl stir together remaining ingredients.  Add in cocoa mixture. Pour into a greased and floured 9×13 pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes. While still hot, frost with chocolate frosting. (Recipe follows.)

Chocolate Frosting

2 cups powdered sugar

1/3 cup cocoa

2 tablespoons Crisco

2 tablespoons margarine

1 teaspoon of vanilla

Add a tablespoon of milk at a time until frosting comes together.

I didn’t frost my brownies this time, because my husband likes them plain, but the frosting is yummy. Make sure you do it when the brownies are still hot. It makes all the difference.

Now if you like gooey, fuggy brownies back off the baking time. I only baked them for 20 minutes. Baking in a light colored aluminum pan will give the best results I’ve learned over the years. Dark coated pans or glass makes the brownies burn around the edges. Also, if you use an electric mixer be careful not to over beat the batter. If you incorporate too much air they come out like a cake.

I did change up the recipe a little this time. I used real butter instead of margarine. And I did not melt the butter and mix it with the cocoa. I creamed the butter with the sugar, then mixed in everything else. I think it actually made the brownies even fudgier and certainly richer.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

