Wednesdays for Wives: Traditional Marriage

Well, this a controversial topic, and if you lean to the left when you vote, I might be stepping on your toes this week. Perhaps we can choose to respectfully disagree like Ellen and John McCain.

I’m sure you’ve heard by now that the California Supreme Court legalized gay marriage a couple weeks ago. I don’t believe gay marriage should be legalized. I am a Christian and I believe God intended marriage to be between one man and one woman. I also believe that traditional marriage benefits children, adults and society as a whole

But my position on gay marriage doesn’t mean that I hate gay people. I don’t think they should be bashed or discriminated against or have any of their basic rights refused. The results of recent polls show that I’m not the only American with this position. In almost every poll the majority opposed gay marriage, but did not oppose homosexual’s human or employment rights. It seems that over half of all Americans see the importance of protecting the sanctity of marriage while respecting other’s lifestyle choices.

Is it important to you to protect traditional marriage in America? Write your U. S. senators and congressmen and let them know where you stand on this issue. You can find their contact information here. Also write your state representatives and senators. So far most of the cases regarding gay marriage have been fought at the state level. You can find a links to state legislatures here.

 

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Wednesdays for Wives: Traditional Marriage”

  1. Audrey Says:

    Hi, I’m Audrey. I found your blog through MommyFest. Though it’s long over, I’m loving meeting others and enjoying some great blogs.

    I’m curious, would you be ok with the union called a union not a marriage?

  2. Colleen Says:

    That is a hard question, and also a matter of controversy. I guess I would have to say yes based on the fact that I know for some people that’s the only way they could get health insurance coverage, assuming health insurance companies recognize legal unions. Like I said, I don’t think homosexuals’ basic rights should be refused, so they should have a right to affordable health coverage. Some would say that’s not a basic right, but isn’t good health necessary for life and the pursuit of happiness? I don’t agree with the lifestyle, but we are all Americans, and America is governed by laws and not moral or religious values, so the same rights should extend to everyone. I am sure there are those that disagree with me. I can see how Legal Unions would also benefit others, such as a single mother and her child living with the child’s grandparent. The working adult could provide health coverage for the others in the home if legal unions were allowed. Beyond that, health care should be reformed so that everyone can afford the care they need with out having to go to such extremes. But that’s a whole other subject. But I do think marriage should be defined as a union between one man and one woman in order to prevent the family in it’s most traditional and beneficial form from becoming obsolete.

Leave a Reply

