When Mom takes a Sick Day

I’ve been trying to get back up to speed after being sick with a terrible cold last week. Either the colds are getting worse, or it’s getting harder to recover as I get older. I can’t remember being so exhausted from a cold before. It’s not like I had the flu. Even after my symptoms were gone, I felt like I lacked my usual energy for a few days.

Once I started feeling well enough to care again, I realized just what a sad state my house was in. My living room looked like a bomb went off in it. Embarrassing as it is, here’s a photo of what it looked like Monday morning.

 

This is what happens when husband and toddler are left to fend for themselves for several days. And that’s not even scratching the surface. The kitchen and my son’s room were littered with more piles of toys. The mountain of dirty clothes in the laundry room was so high I needed repelling equipment to get over it to the washing machine, and the dinning room table was unidentifiable under all the papers, books and unopened mail. There would have been a pile of dirty dishes in the sink too were it not for disposable plates and cups and fast food. If you had illusions my house always being neat and clean, consider yourself now disillusioned. I wish I had an after picture to show you, but it’s still a work in progress. The toys have been organized and put away, and the laundry pile is slowly dwindling, but I’m not done yet.

I also remembered on Monday that I had flats and pots of flowers I’d purchased the day before I got sick languishing in the yard waiting to be planted. Not wanting my investment to go to waste, I put aside some of the house work to get those planted. I also couldn’t stand to be inside all day when it was so lovely outside.

To make matters worse, yesterday afternoon just as I was about start vacuuming, our power went out for the second time in about a week. That brought the house work to an end for the day. And cut off my Internet access putting the kibosh on my plans to blog last night. The power’s back on and I’m back to cleaning, and trying to get some blogging in here and there too.

 

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

