Girl Talk: Go Retro

O.K., Ok. So I love the style of the 1940’s and 50’s, and the romantic images of simpler times it reminds me of. I suppose it comes from watching all those old movies; Bringing Up Baby, An Affair to Remember, Stage Door Canteen, Adam’s Rib, Casablanca, It’s a Wonderful Life.

I especially like the fashions from those decades. Men were dapper in their suits and Fedoras, women elegant with hats and gloves. And your appearance was important when you went out. No schlepping to the grocery store in sweats, or going to church in jeans and a t-shirt. I admit, I’m glad I don’t have to dress up every time I need to buy milk, and thank goodness I don ‘t have to spend all day straightening the seams in my stockings. But it is fun to get all dressed up once in a while.

My favorite fashions from the 1940’s and 50’s are the dresses. Designed before so-skinny-we-can-see-your-spine was in, they were feminine and cut to flatter women’s curves. The dress has made a comeback in women’s closets in the last couple of years, and a few companies have offered up new dresses that are throw-backs to those eras. Summer is the perfect time to pick up one of these flirty retro styles.

Imagine boarding First Class for a trans-Atlantic flight in the Metroliner from Red Dress Shoppe. Red Dress has many more retro dresses, tops and bottoms to choose from.

Pin-Up Girl Clothing offers, dresses, shoes, swim wear, accessories and lingerie from several designers. This Pin-Up Couture Dorothy Dress is a classic. Put on some pearls, start vacuuming and you’ll feel just like Donna Reed.

This 1950’s vintage inspired Shirley bathing suit from Popina may have you donning a swim cap and re-enacting scenes from Esther Williams movies.

Needs some retro accessories? Stocking Showcase has seamed stockings and all the hardware to hold them up.

Even if these clothes aren’t your style, it’s fun to look.

Want to join in on some Girl Talk? Post about anything girlie on your blog, let’s keep it PG-13 at least, and link back to this post. Don’t forget to sign the Mr. Linky form below and enter your post permalink. Feel free to grab the Girl Talk button and use it on your blog. I post this once a week on Thursdays, usually in the afternoon when my son is sleeping. You can link up any time between now and next Wednesday.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Girl Talk: Go Retro”

  1. misty Says:

    I would love to go retro in my wardrobe! I already love retro appliances.

  2. acupofjoy Says:

    How funny! I had the same idea for Girl Talk…retro! 🙂

Leave a Reply

