Conversations with a Three-Year-old: Politics

Most people are probably tired of all the election coverage in the news, but I can’t get enough. I think politics are fascinating, and this year certainly hasn’t been a disappointment. To feed my addiction, I watch cable news. I have some pretty strong political opinions, (I might as well be up front and tell you that I am a moderate Republican who will vote for John McCain in the fall.) and it seems that my 3 1/2 year old son, David, is developing them as well.

Last week Barack Obama was giving a televised speech the day after he sealed up the democratic nomination. David was playing in the living room and heard Obama say something about “taking back the power.”

“Mommie, who is that man?”

“That is Barack Obama.”

“What’s he do?” Person, animal or thing, David always asks what it does.

“He’s running for President of the United States, our country. He might be the next president of the country we live in.”

“I don’t want him to be president.”

That surprised me. I wasn’t aware that David had any political views.

“Why not?”

“He’s going to turn off our electricity.”

“What? Why do you think Obama is going to turn off our electricity?”

“He said he’s going to take back the power. I don’t want him to turn our lights off.”

A string of bad storms caused our power to go off twice the week before for several hours each time.

“Oh, I don’t think that’s what he meant when he said that David.”

“Yes! Obama is going to take our power!”

It didn’t matter what I said. I couldn’t convince him otherwise.

Later a campaign commercial for John McCain came on.

“He wants to be president too, Mommie?”

“Yes. McCain and Obama are competing against each other. It’s kind of like a big game. We’ll have to wait and see who wins.”

“I want Mccain to win Mommie. He won’t turn our power off.”

Now whenever he sees McCain on TV he says, “He’s a nice man. I want him to be president. He won’t take our electricity away.”

Who says McCain doesn’t poll well in younger demographics?

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Conversations with a Three-Year-old: Politics”

  1. Mom Says:

    I remember a litlle,blue-eyed blonde three year who had a very strong opinon on the re-election of President Jimmy Carter becasue his news conferences interrupted her afternnon TV program, “Little House on the Prairie”.

  2. Erin Says:

    I totally loved this conversation with your son and had to mention it on my blog, since we are talking about being good citizens this week. Here is the link:
    http://laugh-learn-love.blogspot.com/2008/06/being-good-citizen.html

  3. realworldmartha Says:

    TOO CUTE!!!! You need a video for that to put on UTUBE

  4. Jo Says:

    Out of the mouth of babes! History in the making!

  5. Living Room Olympics and Some Conversations with a Three-Year-Old « Mommie Daze Says:

    […] this conversation about Barack Obama? David still doesn’t believe […]

  6. Debbie Says:

    Thanks for the laughs! I read most of your blog out loud to my husband tonight and we both got a great laugh!

Leave a Reply

