Wednesdays for Wives: You’re Worth It!

So how’s your self-esteem?

In a society that puts so much emphasis on image, performance and popularity, it’s pretty easy to get your self-worth knocked around and bruised.

The mirror isn’t always a friend. Newly formed crow’s feet, extra inches around the waist, a stray gray hair or two can leave you feeling unattractive. The young airbrushed models and actresses in glossy magazines set a pretty high bar.

Maybe it’s not about your looks. Maybe it’s that you feel like a failure because you can’t figure out how to juggle work, marriage and kids and still keep a spotless house. Perhaps your cooking skills aren’t on par with Julia Child’s.

Rejection from a friend of family member can make you feel less than whole. Or if you didn’t get the PTA’s room mother of the year award. The failure and struggles of your spouse and children can get you down if you blame yourself.

Low self-esteem sabotages relationships, even with your husband. When you don’t like yourself, it makes it difficult to accept love from others. You may find yourself pushing away the very people who’s support and love you need. Your negative attitude my also cause your loved ones to back off.

Here’s the thing, you are worthy. Worthy of love, worthy of acceptance, worthy of forgiveness when you make a mistake. You’re life, no matter how boring, mundane or unsuccessful it might seem to you, is very important. Who says? The only one who’s opinion really matters, God.

God created you. He knew you in the womb before you were born.

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. Psalm 139:13-16

He sacrificed the life of his only son so that you could receive forgiveness and join him in eternity someday.

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16

He loved you before you loved him. He loves you even if you don’t yet know him.

We love because he first loved us. 1 John 4:19

There’s nothing you can ever do to make God stop loving you. There’s nothing you can do to earn God’s love. He gives it freely to anyone who accepts it.

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast. Ephesians 2:8-9

If a God who is perfect, all powerful and all-knowing can love you like that, then surely your are worthy of love from yourself and others. Even if the laundry pile is a mile high. Even if you lost your temper and shouted at your kids. Even if your last friend on earth abandoned you. God still thinks you’re worth his time.

We’re all imperfect works in progress. Let God loves you, imperfections and all. Let that love spill over into love and acceptance for yourself. Let your husband, your family, your friends love you. Open up and love them back. You’re worth it!

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Wednesdays for Wives: You’re Worth It!”

  1. tealadydarla Says:

    You go girl! I am new to blogging, and know nothing. I came surfing by to read how others have done, and see if there are others out there like me. Sure enough, I found you. I would love to add you as a link on my page, but not quite sure how to do that. I’ll work on it this weekend. In the meantime, I am Tealadydarla.wordpress.com, and the name of my blog is Tea On Tuesday. My latest entry is all about weddings, and what makes em special. (Hint, his initials are H.S.) Would love to have you stop by. And would love any help or advice you might bring. I have also started an interactive blog ministry for young women in our church at http://www.webjam.com/happilyeverafter . I know you don’t have time to read all my blog posts. But I’m hoping what you and I are doing is evangelizing and encouraging somehow. Again, if you have suggestions, I’m all ears.
    Thanks, Darla

  2. Homemaker Barbi Says:

    Great article! I agree that loving yourself and taking care of yourself has a huge impact on the quality of your relationships with others.
    Homemaker Barbi

  3. Michelle Says:

    Yes! We must put on our own oxygen mask before we can help others put theirs on! God’s unconditional love is awesome!

Leave a Reply

