Wednesdays for Wives: Let’s Hear it for the Boys

Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing. 1 Thessalonians 5:11

When I was in junior high, MTV was all the rage and actually still played music videos. I wasn’t supposed to watch MTV, but I’d sneak peeks at friends’ houses or when my parents weren’t around. One of my favorite videos was the one hit wonder “Mickey”. Dressed as a cheerleader, singer Toni Basil danced around singing, “Oh Mickey, you’re so fine! You’re so fine you blow my mind! Hey Mickey! Hey Mickey!” I wanted to be a cheerleader, but my really, really bad haircut, and complete lack of athletic ability stood in the way.

Well, I stopped getting perms and my hair got better, but I never did get to shake a pair of pom-poms.

I am a cheerleader though. Every day I have the opportunity to rally the home team to victory.

As a wives, we should be our husbands’ biggest fans. I’m not talking about walking around the house in lollipops and a short skirt. (Although he might like that.) We need to encourage our husbands, and celebrate their successes. I don’t always remember to do this. Sometimes I’m too worried about when the leaky faucet’s going to get fixed. Or I’m too caught up in myself to stop and tell him that I’m proud of his achievements at work.

But your husband wants to hear those kinds of things from you. Men need to know that their wives are proud of them. If they’re facing a difficult task, they need to know that we’re on the sidelines praying for them. Sometimes they need someone to say, “Go get ’em,”  and give then that final push over the first yard line. And when they hit a home run, they need someone in the dugout shouting, “Hooray!”

I can’t get these 80’s pop songs out my head today. Here’s a line from another old favorite of mine, “Let’s Hear it for the Boy”.

…Because what he does
he does so well
Makes me wanna yell

Lets hear it for the boy
Lets give the boy a hand
Lets hear it for my baby
You know you got to understand

I have the strangest urge to go curl my bangs, and put on a pair of leg warmers now.

Give your husband three cheers today!

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Wednesdays for Wives: Let’s Hear it for the Boys”

  1. Teresa KK Says:

    My hubby needs a cheerleader. Thanks for the reminder. Oh and welcome to the mom blogger’s club.

Leave a Reply

