Summer Chillers: Apple Pie Ala Mode Freezer Tart

Fourth of July is just a few days away, and as they say, what’s more American that apple pie? But I didn’t want to peel and cut up apples and make pie crust. I didn’t want to warm up the house by leaving the oven on for an hour either. So, I came with the Apple Pie Ala Mode Freezer Tart. I don’t often just make up my own dishes, but this one is a Mommie Daze original, sort of. It’s based on other frozen desserts I’ve had in the past.

Everything you need to make this you can buy pre-made from the store.

2 Pre-made graham cracker pie crusts

1 can of apple pie filling

1 gallon of vanilla ice cream

1 jar of caramel sauce

1 tub of Cool Whip

I  did actually make my own crust, because I wanted to put it in a 9×13 dish instead of two separate pie tins. And since it was only 50 degrees when we woke up this morning, I didn’t mind turning the oven on for 10 minutes. It’s summer, but it’s felt more like apple pickin’ season around here lately.

Graham Cracker Crust for 9×13 Pan

2 c. crushed graham crackers
1/4 c. white sugar
1/2 c. melted butter

Stir together. Press into bottom of baking dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.

In the past, I crushed graham crackers in my food processor. It gets the job done fast, but digging it out of the the cupboard and washing it afterward is a pain. It’s a lot easier to put the crackers in a big Ziploc bag, and crush them with a rolling pin. I let my son do that part. It’s a good outlet for a three-year-old boy who likes to pound on things.

Either you’ve got the store bought crust or your homemade one ready to go. Now you need to soften the ice cream, and chill your can of apple pie filling in the fridge. Sit the ice cream out on the counter for about a half an hour. It may take a little longer or a little less, depending on the room temperature.

Once the ice cream is soft spread it in a layer about 1/2 to inch think. (If you make your own crust, make sure it’s completely cooled first.) I found it easier to  press the ice cream down into the crust with a spatula rather than actually spread it. I only ended up using about 2/3 of the gallon. Once the ice cream is spread out, put the tart in the freezer for an hour to let the ice cream firm up.

After an hour take the tart out of the freezer, and the pie filling out of the fridge. Spread the filling over the ice cream. Then spread the Cool Whip over the pie filling. Cover and return to the freezer for about six hours until firm or overnight.

When ready to serve, top with caramel sauce. (Mine actually has butterscotch on it, because I accidentally grabbed the wrong jar at the grocery and didn’t notice until I got home. Still tastes good!)

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Summer Chillers: Apple Pie Ala Mode Freezer Tart”

  1. Kim @ What's That Smell? Says:

    That sounds really yummy!

    I’m coming to your house on the 4th!

  2. Angel Says:

    Wow, I want to taste it )))

  3. S for Kitchen Confit Says:

    This looks good. I also was in the mood for concocting an original recipe recently, so I made an apple tart with manchego cheese.

Leave a Reply

