Summer Chiller: Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream with Blueberry Sauce

I guess I’ve been on summer vacation for a few days. I never did get around to doing last Thursday’s Girl Talk. And I didn’t plan ahead for this week’s Summer Chiller. When I finally decided I should make something last night, I had to make due with ingredients on hand. I had all the things to make vanilla ice cream.

A lot of vanilla ice cream recipes call for raw eggs. I don’t want to give my family salmonella, so I found a recipe with a cooked egg base which technically makes this a frozen custard.

Vanilla Ice Cream (Frozen Custard) Recipe

6 eggs
2 cups milk
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups whipping cream
1 tablespoon vanilla
crushed ice (if required by manufacturer for your ice cream freezer)
rock salt (if required by manufacturer for your ice cream freezer)

1. In medium saucepan, beat together eggs, milk, sugar and salt. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture is thick enough to coat a metal spoon with a thin film and reaches at least 160 degrees F.

2. Cool quickly by setting pan in ice or cold water and stirring for a few minutes.

3. Cover and refrigerate until thoroughly chilled, at least one hour.

4. When ready to freeze, pour chilled custard, whipping cream and vanilla into 1-gallon ice cream freezer can.

Freeze according to manufacturer’s directions using six parts ice to one part rock salt. Transfer to freezer containers and freeze until firm.

From the UNL Extension

I got this all cooked and cooled then realized I’d made an oversight. I have an electric ice cream maker that uses a frozen bowl instead of ice and rock salt to freeze the ice cream. The bowl is supposed to go in the freezer for 12 hours before making the ice cream. So although I had every intention of finishing this last night, I had to wait until this morning.

It took almost as long to find the other pieces to my ice cream maker, as it did for the ice cream to freeze. It was scattered all over the kitchen in different cupboards. But I finally got it put together. About 45 minutes later it was thick and creamy. It’s still pretty soft at this point, so it’s best to let it harden in the freezer for a few hours or overnight. But you can eat it right away too.

While the ice cream was churning, I made blueberry sauce for it.

Blueberry Sauce Recipe

1 C water

1 C sugar

1 C blueberries

Stir sugar and water together in a heavy-bottomed pot over medium heat until sugar is dissolved. Add blueberries. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until liquid thickens to a thin syrup. If you get distracted like I did, and the sauce gets too thick, just add some water back in.

Now if you have the time and an ice cream maker, this is one food that if you make it yourself, you can definitely save money. A premium gallon of ice cream in the store can be over $5 these days. It only cost about $2.50 cents to make this. And if you’re worried about what’s in your food, you can control that too by using organic ingredients, and this of course has no preservatives in it. You could even make it sugar-free by substituting Splenda.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Summer Chiller: Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream with Blueberry Sauce”

  1. David Says:

    I don’t think I’m ever going to lose weight, if you keep making these foods!!!

  2. Loved New Says:

    I really need to get an ice cream maker! I buy ice cream all the time… I blame the addiction on my father. Ice cream was always in the house when I was a kid. I will have to try this.

Leave a Reply

