Girl Talk: The Evils of Bathing Suits and Win Some Swag

After a chilly spring and a cool early summer, the heat has finally kicked into high gear around here. It’s been 90 degrees and humid for days now. That’s pretty hot for us Yankees up in Michigan.

That means I’ve been spending a lot of time in the pool with my son, and a lot of time in my bathing suit.

Bathing. Suit. Season.

Three words that strike fear into the heart of many a woman be they short, tall, fat, thin, pear or twig shaped.

Oh, the horrors of searching for that perfect swimsuit.

It’s torture to try on suit after suit in a tiny little dressing room all the while scrutinizing yourself in one those evil three-way mirrors under fluorescent lights that create cellulite you don’t even have. You’ve got to find the right color, the right support, the right coverage.

For a few year now I’ve coveted one of those mix & match tankinis from Lands’ End. With so many different styles of tops and bottoms to choose from and a big range of sizes, they’ve got something for just about anyone. In fact, you can choose the customize option and even get a top in your exact bra size, with or with out under wire.

Alas, I can not justify spending over a hundred dollars on something that I’m just going to hang around my backyard in. But I also don’t want to scare the neighbors, and we do make a few trips to Lake Michigan each year.

In August.

When it finally thaws.

Oh, if you have not had the pleasure of swimming in one of our country’s beautiful Great Lakes, baby, you don’t know what cold is!

If it were up to me, I’d wear this to the beach.

I personally think the Victorians had it goin’ on when it came to swimwear. Modest, full-coverage, nothing to keep tugging back into place. It is the mystery of what is not reveled…

Unfortunately it’s the 21st century now.

I never was comfortable in a skimpy swimsuit. There were a few years back in my younger days I could have rocked a bikini, but most of the time I stuck to the one piece. And then along came the tankini. If that’s not one of the best advances in women’s fashion in recent history, I don’t know what is.

But since hitting, and passing, 30 and carrying a child for nine months my hang ups about exposing my figure to the world in a swimsuit have exponentially increased.

Well, I unexpectedly hit the swimsuit jackpot this season at, of all places, WalMart.

O.K. First of all, I know it’s a “mom” bathing suit, but I’m a mom. Get over it. I don’t wear mom jeans, so just let me have this.

I love this suit, which I think is technically called a swim dress. It’s so flattering, if I do say so myself, that I actually get excited about putting it on. I considered taking a picture of me modeling it, but decided that no matter how good it looks, a photo of me in a swimming suit just does not need to be out there on the World Wide Web.

The V-neck accentuates one of my better physical attributes while the a-line cut and princess waist causes it to fall away from the rest of my body, smoothing and slimming everything. The length is just right to hide my thighs, my biggest hang-up of all. In fact, it fits so well, I wish it were a real dress. I’d wear out everywhere.

I also happen to like the sassy little animal print. Not sure what it is. Giraffe, maybe? I don’t think that animal actually exists anywhere on earth, but it’s cute. And it’s brown, the new black, don’t you know?

Lake Michigan, here I come!

Just as soon as the glacier melts.

Talk back to me! Gotta swim suit story? Leave a comment and share.

Girls Just Wanna Win Swag

Girls Just Wanna Win Swag is a new weekly giveaway I’m starting next week in conjunction with Girl Talk. Each week I’m going to feature a different woman-owned small business that offers products for the “girl” in you. You’ll have the chance to win some swag from the featured company.

I’m really excited to help promote women in small business, and introduce you to some wonderful companies and products you may not know about. I’ve got several weeks of great giveaways lined up already. You don’t want to miss it. So come back next week for our usual chit-chat, and some great swag.

Have a women-owned business you’d like featured in a Swag givewaway? Fill out the contact form in my sidebar and let me know.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Girl Talk: The Evils of Bathing Suits and Win Some Swag”

  1. acupofjoy Says:

    Gotta code for your super swanky swag button? I’d like to put it on my blog to send some traffic your way! šŸ™‚

  2. Loved New Says:

    Looks like cheetah print to me! Cute and sexy… good job.

  3. Kelsey Says:

    I love it! Nice!

  4. happyathome Says:

    I’m there with ya on the swim suit. Infact, I actually owned my last swim suit for over 12 years! YEs I bought it in HI when I moved there and just tossed it this spring! Hmmm…this would be a good post. Check my site tomorrow! Tag, I’m it!
    http://www.lifeislikechampagneblog.com/

  5. Elizabeth Says:

    I’ve had good luck finding suits that cover things up and are somewhat fashionable from Wal-Mart also, but I don’t get more than 1 season out of them, because I’m in and out of the pool, lake, or ocean almost every day. Those Lands End suits last for years, and hold everything in nice and sturdy! I am pretty large, so I end up spending a lot for a suit no matter where I get it.
    Love your blog, I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

