Summer Chillers: Snickers Apple Salad

This is the last installment of Summer Chillers for the season.

Labor Day marks the official end of summer around here even though there are still a few weeks left according to the calendar. But the days are already getting shorter, and the nights are getting cooler. So next Tuesday Cookie of the Week will be back.

My husband and son will be happy to see the weekly supply of fresh baked goods make its return. I’m always looking for new recipes to try, so if anyone’s got a great cookie recipe to share I’d love to hear from you.

I always make the recipes before I share them here. I don’t want to pass on a recipe that doesn’t work. There are a lot of recipes out there that just don’t turn out even if you follow the instructions to the letter. And I’d be a fraud if I said I made this stuff for my family, and didn’t really.

But this week is the one exception. I’m not feeling well today, and whipping up a batch of something just is not high on my list of things to do right now. I’ve never made Snickers Apple Salad before, but I have eaten it, and it’s yummy. The salad is so simple to make, I don’t think this recipe could fail. Since it is almost fall and fresh picked apples are, or will be, available soon, I thought this would be a good one to share.

Snickers Apple Salad Recipe

1 8 oz. container Cool Whip
3 apples, diced
3 regular size Snickers candy bars, frozen

Mix together the Cool Whip and apples. Smash the Snickers bars and add to the salad. Let stand at room temperature for a few minutes before serving to let the carmel in the candy bars soften.

Enjoy what’s left of summer!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Summer Chillers: Snickers Apple Salad”

  1. Dad Says:

    Just deep fry the Snickers. But for your health, be sure to use canola or olive oil. Deep fried Snickers and Twinkies are among the featured treats at the Bluffton Street Fair.

Leave a comment